How long is the class?

Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) requires eight hours of instruction. Class is a single one 8-hour day class beginning at 8:00 AM and finishing at 4:30 PM. Lunch is approximately noon to 12:30.

What do I bring to class?

Bring three things to class: 1) Your TSS letter or 39-month Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) 2) Photo ID and 3) $160 cash, money order or PayPal receipt. Food and drinks are welcomed. You may want to bring a sweater or jacket.

What if I lost my letter?

For $3, you may download your 39-month Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) at ServiceArizona.com and bring it to class in lieu of your letter. Or, for $10, you may arrive early on the day of class to have the instructor download a copy of the letter for you. Please know, if you are not in the system, the instructor must turn you away.

What is Traffic Survival School (TSS)?

Traffic survival school (TSS) is designed to reach individuals who have exhibited a disregard for traffic laws and the safety of others. MVD believes mandating violators to attend school will improve motorists' attitudes towards safe driving. TSS is required by MVD and must be attended within 60 days of the “Date Action Begins” found on the Traffic Survival School letter you received or your license will be suspended.

Is Traffic Survival School the same as Defensive Driving?

No. Defensive Driving School is for individuals who received a ticket and wish to attend a class to avoid paying for and the points associated with the violation. TSS is for individuals who have already been convicted and assessed points and now received a letter from Arizona Chapter National Safety Council (ACNSC)/ADOT Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) mandating a Traffic Survival School class. If you are looking for an Arizona Defensive Driving School click here.

I received this letter from ACNSC/MVD, now what?

MVD allows 60 days from the “Date Action Begins” to complete a TSS class. At the end of class, you will receive a certificate of completion for your records. A copy of the certificate is electronically sent to MVD for you. You’re done! EXCEPTION: If your license is already suspended for failure to attend TSS, you MUST pay a reinstatement fee. Attending our class will NOT reinstate your license. To reinstate your license visit a MVD office or MVD's website: www.servicearizona.com.

I already dealt with the Court, why do I need TSS?

In September 2001, a law was passed requiring violators to attend a TSS class. Once you have made arrangements with the Court, your information is sent to MVD. In turn, ACNSC/MVD sends you a Traffic Survival School letter.

What if I have a court order requiring I attend TSS?

First, this class should not be confused with a defensive driving class. If you received a ticket and want to attend a class to avoid points associated with the violation, you need a defensive driving class which we do not offer. If you have already been to Court (for something OTHER than DUI) and your court paperwork specifically states in the decision (signed by the Judge) that you are required to attend "traffic survival school" then this is the class for you (for DUI, you will receive a Traffic Survival School letter). Bring with you to class a full copy of the court paperwork, photo ID, and payment. Arrive early to allow the instructor time to enter you into the system.

Should I register online or by phone?

How you register is totally up to you. If you sign up online, you will receive an email reminder. If you sign up by phone, you will receive a reminder phone call. Reminders are usually completed one to two days prior to your class date.

How do I pay for class?

Our $160 fee covers ALL TSS fees for the class (meaning, payment includes the ACNSC enrollment fee). On the day of class, bring $160 cash, money order or payment receipt. You may call to use a card or use PayPal (PayPal button is at the bottom of this page and on most pages of this website). NOTE: If you use PayPal or payment over the phone to pay for class then request a refund, we will deduct any charges incurred by the transaction (if any). Please allow three business days for a refund.

What time does class start/end?

Class times are generally 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM (lunch is approximately noon to 12:30 PM). Class times may vary. Sign in begins at 7:30 AM and students arriving after 8:00 AM may be turned away.

May I reschedule my class?

Absolutely! Give us a call, send us an email, or simply register again online (please note in the COMMENTS box you are rescheduling).

Thanks for considering our family of TSS Schools!​